We’re Off!

Do we or don’t we? This was our dilemma on whether or not we wanted to get an early (or late) start depending on your viewpoint. My vote was to go after work on Thursday. Sean’s was to leave Friday morning. I was already in Chicago earlier in the day, so this did mean I had to turn around and go right back through the city. On the other hand, we would be going through Chicago at night so traffic would be minimal. We decided to go for it!

On the road…eazy smezy … Even though the ‘Da Bears’ were playing traffic wasn’t too bad. Our goal was to get to South Bend Indiana … Yep home of the Fighting Irish.

20130830-110806.jpg

It was cool to see the Notre Dame tower, which I’ve been seeing on tv for years. I’ve always been a Notre Dame fan so this was exciting for me. We drove right through the campus area, so i was able to get a feel for the area. very pretty campus. We drove through downtown South Bend (small city) and stayed at a Motel 6 ( because pets stay for free) in Mishawaka.

Warning! Worse motel 6 ever! We got there about midnight because of the time change. I swear people were renting rooms by the hour. Sort of a seedy place, although the area was nice. Anyway I tore of the blankets, laid down the sleeping bag, grabbed my own pillows … And we crashed. Got up early to hit the road. We didn’t even take the time to grab coffee or eat. Even Shiloh had to wait for her kibbles…couldn’t get out of there fast enough! I guess this is what happens when we leave at the last moment. We thought it as funny though…all part of the travel experience. Lol!

Final destination today is Worlds End State Park in Pennsylvania. I hope we can find a place to camp tonight. We don’t have any reservations – again. Wish us luck – oh wait I think we picked some up in South Bend.

20130830-113058.jpg

Categories: Acadia National Park Maine 2013 | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.